A better tag for manga with trans characters :rejected:

Maybe it's just me, but seeing "gender bender" being used when a character is trans is kinda upsetting? Also its harder to find actual manga that have trans characters.

This is my first time using this forum so I apologize in advance if I did/said something wrong.

VIP
There's been discussions previously about improving the specificity of tags, for example with mangaupdates-style community tags. There was also this thread about having separate tags for crossdressing and gender bender, which is related to your suggestion here. There doesn't seem to be any clear consensus about any of this, though.

I personally would be happy to see more specific tags, because the elaborate tagging system is the main reason why I greatly prefer AO3 over FF.net these days.

For the time being, mangaupdates probably has the most extensive catalog of manga tags. They have a transgender character tag and also a transgender protagonist tag.

jak

Contributor
Except "gender bender" works. That tag incompasses trans, but also characters transformed from one gender to another via scifi/supernatural/etc. It's unnecessary to add another tag just for a specific thing when gender bender works fine.

is a Reindeer
VIP
A trans tag isn't necessary for MangaDex. According to MangaUpdates, there are less than 50 series where there is a trans protagonist and less than 200 series where there are transgender characters at all. Tags on MangaDex should be both useful to the reader but also applicable to a large number of series for the sake of efficiency.

https://www.mangaupdates.com/series.html?category=Transgender+Protagonist

https://www.mangaupdates.com/series.html?page=1&perpage=100&category=Transgender+Character%2Fs