[For Hire] New Freelance English Proofreader

Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening.

I am Saber, and I am looking for some work as a proofreader. I am new to the Scanlation profession and would like to gain some experience in this stuff by starting out in the way I feel I can best contribute to Groups, and that is through cleaning up the English Translations that are coming through the pipeline. I enjoy reading manga, but it urks me a lot when I see poor grammar or incorrectly translated sentences and words that I feel could have been avoided. I want to help fix this in the only way I know; to jump in.

I do see a lot of Groups putting up Recruitment Threads here, but I am posting this thread separately because I want to leave an Open-Invite to any Groups that need a Proofreader and would like to either pick me up for an single project, or want to send me work consistently. Either is fine as I consider myself more of a Freelance Proofreader. Yes, that does mean I do not affiliate with any Groups specifically. You can hire me for any project, regardless of the time of day.

With this post, I'm going to answer a few questions to provide Recruiters/Groups with information about myself, what I expect, and what I'm looking for when someone hires me or wishes to contact me. I'll also include what you should bring with you when you come to my table to make things easy.

First: Who am I?

Again, I am Saber. I am currently working as a Diesel Mechanic IRL and have worked as Law Enforcement and as a Teacher's Assistant. Through these jobs, I have learned to have an attention to detail and am extremely picky about my paperwork and writing. I am comfortable with pressure and understand what it means to have deadlines. These are two important things when working in certain professions because time is money. In the case of LE; time meant life and death. Being late wasn't an option.