writer tips

First of all, this probably isn't the best place to ask, since these forums aren't super active. I'd recommend checking someplace like reddit for detailed advice. That being said, here's probably the most important tip anyone can give you: just start writing. Any idea is fine, even if it's not very original, even if you're just stealing it from a manga you read. The best way to be a good writer is to have written a lot, so get started!

Dex-chan lover
@kamuisan I write as a hobby. Wouldn't say that I'm a pro but I have noticed my English improved a ton so I'd say that I'm pretty good at it. Take this slowly cause you may get overwhelmed.

(Pay attention to 4 more)

1. Xannthic's right, just start writing. There have been way too many times I keep thinking about the plot too hard that I lose passion in the story I'm planning to right. But if you aim to write a great story, this won't do.

2. Know your plot. Think about the beginning, the flow of the story, up to the climax, and finally the conclusion. These are four aspects to make a great story. But don't think too hard, figure the gist of literally everything and then start writing. Fix in the plot holes along the way and not at the beginning. If the plot hole can't be fixed, change your plot or look from another angle.

3. Character is everything. The plot is the flour and your characters are the sugar into baking the cake that is your story.
3.1. They must not be two-dimensional. A very reliable rule of thumb is be in your characters' shoes and think how you would react in their situation. If an action feels unnatural then that character should not be doing that.
3.2. Backstories are optional. Character development is optional. You don't need these two to make a character good, although they are preferable. I'm saying this as a warning that if either two of these are badly-written, it can ruin your story.

4. Sentences have emotions. Compare these two.