Proposal for a more accurate rating averages

Hi, I would like to propose an improved rating averaging system, by incorporating the number of rating into account. Why is this important? Consider a scenario of 2 manga, Case A: a 5 star rated manga (with only 1 rating) versus Case B: a 4.9 star rated manga (with 100 ratings). I would prefer the later case to be higher up in sorting.

I am not good with Math, but a few google search later I found the following link: https://fulmicoton.com/posts/bayesian_rating/

As additional info, mangaupdates.com is also using this method, as potential source of info on how to do it.

Thanks in advance, this feature would help people like me who tend to sort by star while trying to find new manga to be read

Miku best girl
Admin
I do plan to do this, but haven't found the best way to do it. Bayesian average would be ideal, but some of the constants required need to be determined, and I have no idea how...

I know I'm not really helping, but I also wish this would be implemented somewhat soon. For now sorting by rating isn't ideal to say the least with many titles being 10.00 and rated by <10 people. You have to go through several pages of titles to get through the "rigged" 10.00 titles.

Hi, coming back to this since I finally had time to perform some readings on this issue. Found a few links that I think shows some good approximation method, summarized below:

Full code at https://jsfiddle.net/sakamoto_lipur/hc2dufvx/4/

I believe you just need to calculate the average number of votes and average overall ratings once (or maybe yearly if needed) and just re-use them since a few new votes wont change them much.

Code:
			// js code as follows
			// let assume item is an array of ratings for one manga, e.g. rating list = 4, 4 & 5 (rating system 1 to 5)

let item = [4, 4, 5]
			let this_num_votes = item.length
			let this_rating = average_array(item)